2014 Convention

December 18th, 2013

The time and location of the 2014 NMJCL Convention has been released. Here are the details, mark your calendars!

2014 NMJCL Convention

Where: Bosque School
When: April 12th, 2014
Time: 8:30-3:15

Salve!

June 29th, 2013

 

Welcome to the New Mexico Junior Classical League website!

  • The NMJCL is a state chapter of the National Junoir Classical League (www.njcl.org), promoting cooperation among local chapters, establishing a basis for order, and better uniting our membership. The purpose of the NMJCL is the advancement of the Classics in the state of New Mexico.
  • Subscribe to our Quid novī page using a RSS feed and keep informed about the NMJCL!

Thank you for visiting NMJCL.org and showing your interest in the Classics!

About NMJCL

June 29th, 2013
The NMJCL is New Mexico’s own Junior Classical League (For more information on the National Junior Classical League and what statewide leagues like our’s do, go to: http://www.njcl.org). We support Roman and Greek based activities, especially the New Mexico Junior Classical League convention. Not only does the classical league support schools and students (public, private, and homeschooled) with a convention, but we also support activities that promote many parts of Roman and Greek life, including language, culture, history, and mythology.
 
These activities are all part of our convention this year from culture (Roman potluck) to language (NLE grammar preparation test). You might ask, “Why join a League anyway? Can’t I just do Latin at school?” Well you can, but our aim is to make Latin, Greek and ancient Roman and Greek culture in general a whole lot more enjoyable. And the way to do this is by doing Latin and Greek things with Latin and Greek students.
 
>>> To take part, take a look at the 2014 NMJCL convention page and become part of the New Mexico Classical League!

Officers

June 27th, 2013
State Chairs:
> Mr. Himwich, himwich@aa.edu
Mr. Himwich is a teacher at Albuquerque Academy and has been involved in the JCL for many years.
> Mrs. Malone, ammalone@nmjcl.org
Mrs. Malone is a Homeschool parent and has worked with Mr Himwich on many classics-related projects.
 
Officers:
> President, Zachary Ward, president@nmjcl.org
> 1st Vice President, Katarina Federici, first_vice_pres@nmjcl.org
> 2nd Vice President, Joshua Ward, second_vice_pres@nmjcl.org
> Secretary, Savannah Horton, secretary@nmjcl.org
> Parliamentarian, Luke Malone, parliamentarian@nmjcl.org
> Treasurer, Emily Ellis, treasurer@nmjcl.org
> Historian, Daniel Ward, historian@nmjcl.org
> Website Coordinator, Joseph Malone, webmaster@nmjcl.org
NMSCL, University of Dallas